JLSA Seder

First of all, today was a beautiful California day. Clear blue skies, fresh air (from all that rain), and perfect temperature. It’s about time! I have a feeling there are going to be more days like this from here on out.

The highlight of the day was a JLSA potluck seder. I think it turned out really well. The location (GCC) was nice with plenty of room and the turnout was more than I expected. There was plenty of food, which resulted in lots of leftovers! I made quinoa, which is a dicey choice for people who haven’t tried it before, but the rest of the food was terrific. The chicken, vegetables, matzah ball soup, desserts, everything! The Seder was casual and there were plenty of laughs. Thanks to all the participants and Miriam, the president of JLSA. It was nice to celebrate the holiday with friends. I’m glad we were able to pull this thing together 🙂

Regarding whether Quinoa is Kosher for Passover, it seems like it should not be because of its comparison to rice or cous cous (which are not permitted) however most authorities claim it is permitted:

“Kosher for Passover Status: Quinoa was determined to be Kosher L’Pesach. It is not related to the chameishes minei dagan-five types of grain products, nor to millet or rice. Quinoa is a member of the “goose foot” family, which includes sugar beets and beet root. The Star-K tested quinoa to see if it would rise. The result was as Chazal termed, sirchon; the quinoa decayed – it did not rise. Furthermore, quinoa does not grow in the vicinity of chometz, nor does its growth resemble kitniyos (see Igros Moshe O.C. Vol. 3, 63). Therefore, quinoa is 100% Kosher L’Pesach. It is recommended to purchase from manufacturers that do not process Chometz grains. Consumers are urged to carefully check grains before Pesach for extraneous matter.” Source here.

Also see this except:

“Finally, there is one product called “quinoa” (pronounced “ken- wah” or “kin-o-ah”) that is permitted on Passover even for Ashkenazim. Although it resembles a grain, it is technically a grass, and was never included in the prohibition against kitniyot. It is prepared like rice and has a very high protein content. (It’s excellent in “chollent” stew!) You should be able to find it at most health food stores. Of course, it needs to be from a closed container that is new for Pesach.” Source here.

Now, I must disclaim that Quinoa does not win a clean sweep of authority. I am aware that some rabbis feel Quinoa is not permitted. If keeping kosher for Passover is very important to you, I recommend asking your rabbi. In my opinion, Quinoa was not something that was even imagined by the makers of the Passover Kosher regimen and the fact that it is demonstrably different from the forbidden foods is more than enough reason for me to happily consume it during Passover (I am not a Kosher person to begin with 🙂

Arrillaga update: back muscles and leg muscles today. The workout went really well. Tomorrow I look forward to hitting shoulders and some cardio. They got 5 new EFX machines, a very nice addition in my opinion. I will use the new ones tomorrow. Now, with 10 Precor EFX’s to go along with the 10 other ellipticals, the wait for a machine during busy times will be reduced. The EFX is my favorite, so it was almost like they answered my prayer.
Another Passover celebration at my sister Talli’s tomorrow! I am pumped, it should be awesome!

Chag Pesach Sameach! (Happy Passover!)

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s